Fitzroy Junior Football Club Website
[Home] [About the Club] [Parents] [Policies & Conduct] [[Merchandise] [Admin] [Contacts] [Team Pages] [YarraJFL]

Follow the Roys


Support Our Sponsors

Melbourne City Toyota

Bendigo Bank



National Storage

Australian Sports Camps

North Carlton Dental Group

Quick Links

Support the Roys

Registration Enquiries

Fitzroy Football Club

FJFC Bootswap

Roy Stories

YJFL Calendar

FJFC Calendar


It is with honour that I have accepted the role of President of the Fitzroy Junior Football Club. I am humbled by the trust and faith that has been placed in me to lead the Club in 2016.
First and foremost, I would like to acknowledge the contribution of our outgoing President, Mark Buttifant. Mark hands over the Club in a remarkably healthy position. I would also like to recognise the tireless efforts of Mark’s predecessors at the Club, Matt O’Connor, Sophie Arnold, Steve Turner, Michael Wright and Alan Moore since our Club was established in 1994.
The Fitzroy Junior Football Club, with over 500 players, their families and extended community, is in such a vigorous position because of its focus on the values of Fairness, Sportsmanship, Safety and Wellbeing. This is a Club that prides itself on participation rather than top-of-the-competition success, thus enabling children of all ability to be valued and encouraged.
Our children grow to become young adults and experience the life skills that come from playing a team sport, including the attributes of resilience, tolerance and fairness. They share in the spoils of success and deal with the tribulations of defeat. They do this under the shelter and safety of our Club’s umbrella, with the guidance of its dedicated coaches and team managers and the support of its many parent volunteers.
This is why I am passionate about the Club.
In taking up the role of President, I look forward to leading the cultural continuity of FJFC including:

  • Maintain and enhance our focus on Fairness, Sportsmanship, Safety and Wellbeing.
  • Develop the growth and participation of girls’ football and support women’s roles as coaches and Club officials.
  • Enhance the pathway from the Fitzroy Junior Football Club to the Fitzroy Senior Football Club
  • Capitalise on the brand that is the Fitzroy Football Club.
  • Develop improved communications with our stakeholders though technology and social media.
  • Support our generous and committed coaches, team managers and volunteers.
  • Maintain our excellent relationship with the Yarra Junior Football League.
  • Promote and support the AFL’s Respect and Responsibility campaign.

I love that all of our children, irrespective of their ability, run out on the ground each Sunday wearing the Fitzroy jumper with pride and enthusiasm.
I want to play a positive and affirming role in them becoming fine, upstanding citizens as they play their part within their local and global community.
I look forward to being of service and interacting with all of you.  You ARE the Fitzroy Junior Football Club.
Go Roys!
Phil Murdoch

2016 Office bearers

Following the  FJFC AGM which was held on 9 November 2015 at the Fitzroy Bowls Club, the following people have been elected as our club officials:

President – Phil Murdoch
Secretary – Simon Minahan
Treasurer – Andrew Hogan
Committee Member –Matt Drew- Coaching
Committee Member – Jodie Munroe – Footy Operations
Committee Member – Dale Williams – Sponsorship
Committee Member – Nick Galloway - Conduct
Committee Member – Christian Spencer-White – Venues and Grounds
Committee Member – Sophie Ioannou – Girls’ Footy
Committee Member – Jan O’Meara – Events
Committee Member – Steve Margetts – Merchandising
Committee Member – Isabella Seivers – Website and Social Media
Committee Member – Sally Wilcox – Player Health and Welfare
Committee Member – Cathy Lester

Dean Robinson - 2015 Club Person of the Year

Each year, the FJFC committee decide upon which of our many hard working members are to be awarded with the award of

Brisbane-Fitzroy Historical Society Club Person of the Year Award (Formerly the Michael Wright Club Person of the Year Award)

This award recognises outstanding contribution to the ongoing development of the FJFC, community-based football and young people. Nomination usually reflects several years of service to the club in either administration or coaching and a commitment to the club values of participation, fitness and fun.

With a club of our size, there are dozens of people each year that could all qualify. However this year, when the committee went through the list of names that were nominated which included Tom Curnow and Monty Stuart, and may I say many thanks to these nominees for all their efforts over many years, the committee were unanimous that one person stands out for his herculean efforts in contributing to the ongoing development of the Fitzroy Junior Football Club over many years.

He has coached teams for at least 5 years and he has also served on the FJFC committee for at least 5 years in the demanding role of our Coaching Coordinator. I am talking of course about Dean Robinson as our recipient of the 2015 Club Person of the Year.

As any of our coaches or committee members will testify, it is nothing unusual to receive long , carefully constructed emails from Dean well after midnight! Dean is passionate and highly committed to the values we hold dear at FJFC and fiercely loyal to all our coaches and assistant coaches. And in typical fashion, despite the fact that he will not have any children playing with the Roys in 2016, Dean has already told me that he will stay involved with the coaching subcommittee to transition in the new Coaching Coordinator.

The Club has awarded Dean a $100 voucher courtesy of the highly regarded La Luna restaurant in Rathdowne Street , North Carlton. La Luna is owned and managed by celebrity chef, Adrian Richardson, and his son Rex played in the U13 Gold team this season. Many thanks to Adrian and Michelle from La Luna for donating this gift voucher too.


Mark Buttifant
FJFC President

FJFC Registrations and Transfers - Key Dates for 2016

Please make note of the following key dates for registration season 2016.

Mid January 2016
Existing Priority Online Registrations will open mid January
Priority Registration for returning players (players who played with the Club in season 2015).
Closing date for Existing Priority Online Registrations - 7th February 2016
Any player not registered by this date may forfeit their position at the Club if teams are at capacity.
Late registrations from returning players will have no priority over new player or transfer registrations.
8th February 2016
New Player Registrations and Transfer Registrations will open
To view the FJFC Registration + Transfer Policy please visit the FJFC Policies page.

A Member Renewal invitation email will be forwarded to all existing players and parents early in the New Year. Check your registered email address is up to date.
Please note that as the Members Renewal invitation email will come from Sportingpulse it may go into junk mail folders. Remember to check!

2015 - Three Premierships

We had 5 teams playing in Grand Finals. From those 5 teams we brought back 3 flags:
U12 gold, U13 red and U14 black.
Congratulations once again to all those teams both those who won and lost. To get to a Grand Final is a fantastic achievement! 
And thank you to all of those Fitzroy players and parents that made it to the games to cheer on the teams! It really shows the unity within our club!



Last Updated November 24, 2015